I was reminded today of one of the things I love about Cascadia. As I was walking down the hall, there was a group of students sitting in the vista discussing climate and how weather works. The group work in which students participate is fantastic, whether each student recognizes it or not. When I hear students remark that they hate group work I have to wonder what they are learning outside of the classroom. Is the push for independent success so strong that they can’t fathom working with a group? The majority of us don’t work in a vacuum and the ability to work well with others is key. A colleague passed on an article about a study that indicates employers only think 39% of college graduates are “very well prepared” for teamwork. 17% are not well prepared.* I think I’ll add that to my syllabi in the future.

* Peter D. Hart Research Associates, Inc. 2008. How Should Colleges Assess and Improve Student Learning. Washington, DC: Peter D. Hart Research Associates, Inc., on behalf of The Association of American Colleges and Universities

